Hancock County, Maine

a service of
V. F. Thomas Co. - P. O. Box 400 - Southwest Harbor, ME 04679 - 207-266-5748

(updated 13 August 2014)


1833 September 20:
   Aurora post office opened. (source: Maine Philatelic Society. 1995. The Post Offices of Maine: A Rarity Guide.)

   Postmaster: Roswell Silsby (source: Maine Register and State Reference Book. 1852.)

1932 October 15 through 1946 January 4:
   The circular postmark is 32–33 mm in diameter. The horizontal bars to the right of the circle are approximately 6 mm apart on center.

   The Aurora post office is still in operation.