Monticello Postal History
Aroostook County, Maine

a project of
V. F. Thomas Co. - P. O. Box 111 - Shawmut, Maine  04975

(updated 1 April 2021)

Thank you for the contributions to this page from the Strout family collection.

During the history of the town of Monticello, there have been two post offices.

Briefly, the history of these two is as follows:
1. Jewell post office opened on 24 September 1904 and closed on 14 September 1905.
2. Monticello post office opened on 1 July 1843 and is still operating.

In 1914, there was only one post office in Monnticello: Monticello. (source: Post Route Map of the State of Maine 1914)
      (click on image to enlarge)

Postmarks from Monticello include:


1843 July 1:
   Monticello post office opened. (source: Maine Philatelic Society. 1995. The Post Offices of Maine: A Rarity Guide)

1892 January 14:
   The circular postmark is 27–28 mm in diameter.
      (click on image to enlarge)

   Alma R. Weed appointed Postmaster.

1935 March 31:
   Opal F. Temple appointed Acting Postmaster.

1935 August 21:
   Opal F. Temple appointed Postmaster.

1939 December 8:
   The circular postmark is 33–34 mm in diameter. The outside vertical height of the four horizontal bars to the right of the circle is approximately 20 mm.
      (click on image to enlarge)

1962 November 30:
   Margaret F. Harper appointed Acting Postmaster.

1965 May 25:
   Everett M. Lementine appointed Postmaster.

   [?] appointed Officer-in-Charge.

1986 February 16:
   Earlon D. Murphy appointed Postmaster.

1991 May 31:
   Pennecia L. Kimball appointed Officer-in-Charge.

1991 August 10:
   Randy P. Michaud appointed Postmaster.

1992 July 23:
   Michael L. Jenkins appointed Officer-in-Charge.

1994 Jnuary 22:
   Michael L. Jenkins appointed Postmaster.

1999 September 14:
   Dolores Codrey appointed Officer-in-Charge.

1999 December 22:
   Brenda M. Bailey appointed Officer-in-Charge.

2000 March 29:
   Wendy Belanger appointed Officer-in-Charge.

2000 August 26:
   Lisa A. Nascimbeni appointed Postmaster.

2001 December 6:
   Barry F. Tower appointed Officer-in-Charge.

2002 May 4:
   Ronald Dale Nason appointed Postmaster.

2003 July 25:
   Terri J. Lovewell appointed Officer-in-Charge.

2003 October 8:
   Jayne E. Shaw appointed Officer-in-Charge.

2004 February 7:
   Daniel L. Durepo appointed Postmaster.

   Michael L. Jenkins appointed Postmaster.

2012 July 27:
   Linda Sewell appointed Officer-in-Charge.

2012 October 24:
   Ricky B. Adams appointed Officer-in-Charge.

2013 June 7:
   Calvin Rockwood appointed Officer-in-Charge.

2013 June 29:
   Monticello post office was converted to a Remotely Managed Post Office under the direction of the Postmaster of the Houlton post office..

   Monticello post office is still in operation.