Madawaska Postal History
Aroostook County, Maine

a project of
V. F. Thomas Co. - P. O. Box 111 - Shawmut, Maine  04975

(updated 29 March 2021)

Thank you for the contributions to this page from the Strout family collection.

During the history of the town of Madawaska, there have been six post offices.

Briefly, the history of these six is as follows:
1. Central Madawaska post office operated from 18 April 1875 to 9 July 1879.
2. Cleveland post office operated from 5 July 1906 to 29 November 1924.
3. Madawaska (1) post office opened on 11 November 1841, closed on 11 May 1869, re-opened on 6 July 1869, and closed on 22 January 1877.
4. Upper Madawaska post office opened on 6 July 1869 and closed on 6 June 1912. It re-pened on 23 August 1912 as Madawaska (2) post office and is still operating.
5. Saint David post office opened on 9 November 1885 and is still operating.
6. West Madawaska post office opened on 11 November 1851 and closed on 1 September 1854.

In 1914, there were three post offices in Madawaska: Cleveland, Madawaska, and Saint David. (source: Post Route Map of the State of Maine 1914)
      (click on image to enlarge)

Postmarks from Madawaska include:
Central Madawaska
Madawaska (1)
Madawaska (2)
Saint David Upper Madawaska
West Madawaska

Madawaska (2)

1912 August 23:
   The former Upper Madawaska post office was renamed as Madawaska (2) post office. (source: Maine Philatelic Society. 1995. The Post Offices of Maine: A Rarity Guide)

1935 October 5:
   Paul J. Archambault appointed Acting Postmaster.

1936 January 23:
   Paul J. Archambault appointed Postmaster.

   The circular postmark is 29–22 mm in diameter.
      (click on image to enlarge)

1953 October 31:
   Romeo R. Albert appointed Acting Postmaster.

1956 May 15:
   Raoul D. Cyr appointed Postmaster.

1972 June 30:
   Joseph M. Sysee appointed Officer-in-Charge.

1973 January 5:
   Joseph N. L. Albert appointed Officer-in-Charge.

1973 April 27:
   Lawrence Parent appointed Officer-in-Charge.

1973 September 29:
   Lawrence Parent appointed Postmaster.

   Margaret M. Brown appointed Officer-in-Charge.

1982 May 1:
   Joseph R. Deschenes appointed Officer-in-Charge.

1992 April 16:
   Manzer Belanger Jr. appointed Officer-in-Charge.

1993 March 6:
   Manzer Belanger Jr. appointed Postmaster.

1997 May 9:
   Patrice A. Jalbert appointed Officer-in-Charge.

1997 July 22:
   Cecile P. Casey appointed Officer-in-Charge.

1997 December 20:
   Cecile P. Casey appointed Postmaster.

2004 February 23:
   Lisa A. Nascimbeni appointed Officer-in-Charge.

2005 January 8:
   Lisa A. Nascimbeni appointed Postmaster.

2008 October 1:
   April M. Pelletier appointed Officer-in-Charge.

2010 February 27:
   April M. Pelletier appointed Postmaster.

2017 June 6:
   Jennifer Y. Cyr appointed Officer-in-Charge.

2017 October 30:
   Nathalie E. Nadeau appointed Officer-in-Charge.

2017 December 23:
   Michelle D. Beaulieu appointed Postmaster.

   Madawaska (2) post office is still in operation.

Saint David

1885 November 9:
   Saint David post office opened. (source: Maine Philatelic Society. 1995. The Post Offices of Maine: A Rarity Guide)

1939 December 14:
   The circular postmark is approximately 33 mm in diameter. The four horizontal bars to the right of the circle are approximately 6 mm on center.
      (click on image to enlarge)

   Saint David post office is still in operation.