Easton Postal History
Aroostook County, Maine

a project of
V. F. Thomas Co. - P. O. Box 111 - Shawmut, Maine  04975

(updated 7 September 2020)

Thank you for the contributions to this page from the Strout family collection.

During the history of the town of Easton, there have been three post offices.

Briefly, the history of these three is as follows:
1. Easton (1) post office opened on 7 April 1858, closed on 13 May 1859, re-opened on 8 January 1862, and closed on 29 February 1908.
2. Manchester (1) post office was established on 15 September 1853, and on 16 May 1856 was renamed as Fremont post office, which closed on 21 July 1869.
3. Sprague’s Mills post office opened on 27 February 1879, and on 23 March 1908 was renamed as Easton (2) post office, which is still in operation.

In 1914, there was one post office in the town of Easton: Easton (2). (source: Post Route Map of the State of Maine 1914)
      (click on image to enlarge)

Postmarks from the town of Easton include:
Easton (1)
Easton (2)
Manchester (1)
Sprague’s Mills

Easton (2)

1908 March 23:
   The former Sprague’s Mills post office renamed Easton (2) post office. (source: Maine Philatelic Society. 1995. The Post Offices of Maine: A Rarity Guide.)

1923 December 4:
   Bernard V. Thompson appointed Acting Postmaster.

1924 March 21:
   Bernard V. Thompson appointed Postmaster.

1932 May 9:
   The circular postmark is 30–31 mm in diameter. The outside vertical height of the four horizontal bars to the right of the circle 19–20 mm.

1936 May 31:
   Marguerite Cahill appointed Acting Postmaster.

1936 June 25:
   Marguerite Cahill appointed Postmaster.

1938 May 19:
   The circular postmark is approximately 33 mm in diameter. The four horizontal bars to the right of the circle are a little less than 6 mm apart on center.

1961 August 31:
   Jean A. Lamoreau appointed Acting Postmaster.

1962 September 28:
   George A. Haines appointed Postmaster.

1979 October 12:
   Elena M. Long appointed Officer-in-Charge.

1979 December 15:
   Andrew Wayne Pendexter appointed Postmaster.

2000 December 28:
   Pauletta Lockhart appointed Officer-in-Charge.

2001 April 7:
   Herman J. Fortin appointed Postmaster.

2005 April 8:
   Pauletta L. Lockhart appointed Officer-in-Charge.

2005 August 20:
   Pauletta L. Lockhart appointed Postmaster.

2008 February 27:
   Sharon J. Crane appointed Officer-in-Charge.

2008 September 27:
   Sharon J. Crane appointed Postmaster.

2012 May 30:
   Dave Gagne appointed Officer-in-Charge.

2013 November 16:
   Easton (2) post office was converted to a Remotely Managed Post Office under the direction of the Postmaster of the Presque Isle post office.

   Easton (2) post office is still in operation.